Speak English Good

We’ve been making a strong push towards manners with the kids and at the same time trying to foster proper grammar. The lesson hasn’t been learned yet, but “I want” is met with silence, or a reply of “daddy wants polite children who ask for things nicely.” They’re smart kids, they’ll get there eventually. “Can I have” is similarly corrected, and therein lies the humor of today’s post. Meorah’s nickname is May, so Tzelia is strongly associating may with May. When she says “can I have more pancake” and I correct her to “please may I have more pancakes” something in her head is hearing May and thinking that its asking her for permission, which ends with a reply of “please May, can I have more pancake?”

Tzelia: I want milk.
Daddy: I want polite children who ask for things nicely.
Tzelia: Please can I have some milk?
Daddy Please may I have some milk.
Tzelia: Please May, can I have some milk?
Daddy: No can, please may I have some milk.
Tzelia: Please May, can I have some milk?
Daddy: Please
Tzelia: Please
Daddy: May
Tzelia: May
Daddy: I
Tzelia: I
Daddy: Have
Tzelia: Have
Daddy: Some
Tzelia: Some
Daddy: Milk
Tzelia: Milk
Daddy: Please may I have some milk.
Tzelia: Please May, can I have some milk?

20130602-094622.jpg